4:44 – Jay Z Admits Wrongs?


  1. Kill Jay Z
  2. The Story Of O.J.
  3. Smile
  4. Caught Their Eyes
  5. 4:44
  6. Family Feud
  7. Bam
  8. Moonlight
  9. Marcy Me
  10. Legacy



The release of Jay Z’s much publicised thirteenth album hit me in two different ways. I mean firstly I questioned his relevancy he had not released any projects since the Magna Carter Holy Grail in 2013 and secondly musically it appeared he was living in Beyonce’s shadow. What more did he have to say to his audience? I mean there was the elevator scandal with his sister in law Solange Knowles that set tongues wagging. Then his wife Beyonce Knowles-Carter released a soulful yet troubled tale of a woman in love, who faced infidelities but choose forgiveness. Her album Lemonade appeared to real to her life, we as the audience wanted to know more.

As everyone knows there are two sides to a story and Jay Z’s attempt at explaining his views are intricately laced through his 10 track listing on his latest 4:44 EP.

Track 1: Kill Jay Z is the opening track from Jay’s 13th studio album. JAY-Z described the song as a killing of his ego. Throughout the song he brings up past troubles, many of them highly-publicized incidents from recent years, and criticizes how he handled those situations.

Track 2: The Story of OJ – The title of the song was influenced by OJ Simpson the former NFL running back who was accused and acquitted of killing his ex-wife Nicole Brown Simpson and her friend Ron Goldman. The trial was named the “Trial of the century” due to the public attention of a black man being accused of murdering his beautiful white wife. Jay Z choose to pick up on this because he felt once a person of colour gets to place of ultimate fame they tend to forget their culture. With that statement it was like OJ was saying his better than a black man.

Track 5: 4:44 – Is an open love/apology letter to his wife Beyoncé. In the song he discusses being a bad husband and the possibility of cheating on her. It samples Hannah Williams & The Affirmations’ “Late Nights & Heartbreak,” another song concerning infidelity, and features vocals by Kim Burrell. The length of the song also, referencing the album and song title, is 4 minutes and 44 seconds.

Track 7: Bam

In the end I am blown away by his continual emphasis on moulding the black culture. Showing just how Pro-black he is whilst also reflecting that he as a man can make mistakes also and his wife Beyonce deserved an apology. Listen to the album now  on Tidal, Apple music, google play or Amazon music and tell me your thoughts!!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s